I am a cliche you’ve seen before (Friends With Benefits, 2011)

In plenty of shows, characters traits are obvious and expected. So I won’t complain because in Friends With Benefits you get: as main character, the nice but sometimes dumb guy (yes, you just got Mosbied); the über-clever but childish nerd (hum, Bosoms would not have said “howdy” in the Fifteenth Century. If anything, they would have said “Huzzah!”); the detached and witty good friend with an unorthodox background (black guy with lesbian mother, Why don’t you just try being nice to her? People like it when you’re nice to them. Remember five years ago at the pet store when you made that guy smile?); the dirty slag that hides too well her big heart (tada, I wanna be able to tell you that my boyfriend really freaked me out). I’m not really bothered that, afterwards, the show makes episodes about how they are not only this and how they can behave very differently than what we would have assumed considering the precited traits, even if that’s a little too easy to be really funny.

However, characters still have to be somehow sympathetic, if not tantalizing. To keep it short, in Friends with Benefits, they’re not. I just hate them. So much that I first wondered if, by any chance, it was not the comedians that I just don’t like at all. I must say I’ve never seen someone looking as dumb as Jessica Lucas, I can’t help it.

But, actually, after watching four episodes (full stop!), I think the scenarists are likely to be the problem. Who would come up with ideas like: having the Elliot Reid character going to a “drug party” (yes, that’s truly a quote) with the complete bitch (yes, that’s a character enacted by Jessica Lucas I did not described before) where she makes out with a hobo and then yells for hours “uargh I made out with a hobo, a fucking hobo, we should eradicate all the hobos” (no, that’s a not an exact quote, I think I made up the last part, but that’s the spirit anyway) or having the Sheldon Cooper guy suddenly thinking is the ultimate playboy that all girls are in love with, stating plenty of times “I’m so rich, how could not all the girls be in love with me”, and insults his friends because of it?

No. The problem must come from the scenario. These scenes suggest, deep down, sordid and disgracious states of mind. According to Wikipedia, the authors are Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber. These guys wrote 500 Days of Summer. How is that possible? This was a good movie, I liked it. Well, now I’m wondering. Maybe it was just the Smiths music and the comedians that I liked. After all, it was already about some crooked girl that stayed with a guy for 500 days while claiming not wanting to settle down, just before settling down with a guy she’s just met two hours ago. Boredom boredom boring boredom.

Leave a Reply

